Municipal & School Taxes

Keystone Collections is responsible for collecting all municipal and school taxes except earned income taxes.

Local Service taxes are paid by individuals working with the Municipality of Murrysville. It is $52 withheld by the employer each pay period.

Per Capita taxes are assessed by both the Municipality and School District. These tax bills are mailed out simultaneously with the real estate tax bills.

  • The school district tax is $10.
  • The municipal tax is $5.

Real Estate Taxes

Real estate taxes are levied by Westmoreland County, Municipality of Murrysville, and Franklin Regional School District. 

Spring taxes for the County and Municipality are mailed out in March and are paid on a calendar year - January to December. Fall taxes for the School District are mailed out in July and are paid on a fiscal year - July 1 to June 30

Tax Appeals for the above-mentioned tax should be sent to:
James R. Morrison - Tax Appeal Officer
Municipality of Murrysville
4100 Sardis Road
Murrysville, PA 15668


Tax Appeals Officer
Franklin Regional School District - Administration Office
3210 School Road
Murrysville, PA 15668

Tax Parcels

The Tax Parcel Application is an online, Interactive Property Tax Map provided by Westmoreland County. The Tax Parcel Application can be used by the general public to view maps showing property lines and display data for a selected property including ownership, description, assessment, and real estate tax information.

Real Estate Transfer tax is assessed on all properties sold within the County and is a 1% tax based on the selling price of the property and paid at the time the deed transfers. This tax is shared equally between the Municipality and the School District.

Earned Income Taxes Only

Berkheimer Tax Administrator is responsible for the collection of Earned Income Taxes. Effective January 1, 2022, the Earned Income Tax rate is a 1.20% tax on earned income. This tax is divided between the Municipality (0.70%)  and the School District (0.50%). All residents are subject to the tax and must submit quarterly payments. A penalty and interest will be assessed if not paid quarterly. All employers are required to withhold and remit this tax for their employees.

  • First Quarter (January to March) due by April 30
  • Second Quarter (April to June) due by July 31
  • Third Quarter (July to September) due by October 31
  • Fourth and Final Quarter (October to December) due by January 31

A final tax return is required to be filed by April 15 of the following year. A penalty of 6% per annum and interest of 0.5% per month will be assessed on unpaid balances - enforced after April 15.

Tax Appeals for the above-mentioned tax should be sent to:
Westmoreland Tax Collection District
c/o Mt. Pleasant Township
P. O. Box 158
Mammoth, PA 15664