Franklin Township Municipal Sanitary Authority


The Franklin Township Municipal Sanitary Authority (F.T.M.S.A.) was established in December 1967 as a Municipal Authority by the board of Supervisors of Franklin Township. The treatment plant was completed and went into operation in May of 1970. In 1985, the plant was doubled in capacity and in 1992, the plant was upgraded to advanced secondary treatment to meet all current laws and in 2004 a new egg-shaped digester, a pasteurization process for the sludge and a septage receiving station was added to the plant. In 1978, Franklin Township became the Municipality of Murrysville.


Municipal Authorities are different from regular boards and commissions in that they are independent state agencies with appointments to the board made by the incorporating local government. Each year, Murrysville Council appoints one member to the five member board. A term lasts for 5 years. Any vacancies to the board are also filled by Council. The Purpose of the FTMSA is to:

  • Ensure that all aspects of sanitary sewage service are in compliance with local, state and federal regulations.
  • Operate the sanitary sewage treatment plant located at the end of Meadowbrook Road.
  • Provide for the efficient cost-effective transportation and treatment of sewage generated within the service area.
  • Regulate all sanitary sewer service within the service area which comprises the entire Municipality of Murrysville.


Chairman: James C. Rumbaugh (term expires 12/31/2023)

Vice-Chairman: Robert F. Mitall (term expires 12/31/27)

Mark Stickel (term expires 12/31/26)

Michael DiGuillio (term expires 12/31/24)

William G. Bell (term expires 12/31/25)

Council Liaison: Dayne F. Dice


The FTMSA meets the third Tuesday of each month at 7:00 p.m. in the FTMSA building. All meetings are open to the public.